Award Winners

Achievement Award

The Achievement Award is AAMP's highest honor bestowed on an AAMP member for continuing service to the meat industry.
  • 2021 Winner - Louie & Barb Muench - Louie's Finer Meats, Cumberland, Wisconsin

Accomplishment Award

The Accomplishment Award was established to recognize up-and-coming AAMP members who have made strides in the meat industry. The award will honor a person or persons who have, for example, achieved outstanding company growth, successfully developed a new product, invention or service, or launched a noteworthy marketing campaign.
  • 2021 Winner - Andy Shaw, Cypress Valley Meat Company, Pottsville, AR

Outstanding Service Award

The Outstanding Service Award is an honor to be bestowed on affiliated associations, officers, secretaries or leaders by AAMP. In 1995 the board of Directors voted to identify these associations and/or leaders whose dedication and enthusiasm have elevated the association to an outstanding degree. This award will recognize noteworthy state, regional, or provincial associations or remarkable leaders.

Cured Meats Hall of Fame Award

The Cured Meats Hall of Fame Award was established to recognize individuals that have shown a long-standing excellence in the production of cured meats. One person per year will be selected to receive the award, unless otherwise recommended. Award winners have actively participated in the ACMCs for several years and state cured meat shows. In addition, they demonstrated exceptional ability in the production of cured meats, been involved in AAMP activities, and willing to share knowledge and information with others in the meat industry. 
  • 2021 Recipient - Aaron Kiesel, Dewig Meats, Haubstadt, IN
  • 2020 Recipient - John Tiefenthaler, Tiefenthaler Quality Meats, Holstein, IA

Cured Meats Excellence Award 

Introduced at the 2011 American Cured Meat Championships (ACMC), the Cured Meat Excellence Award was designed to acknowledge the processor that competed the best throughout the entire competition. Read more about the award here.

Clarence Knebel Best of Show Memorial Award

The Clarence Knebel Best of Show Memorial Award was established in honor of Clarence Knebel to honor the "Best of the Best" from the award-winning products entered in the annual American Cured Meat Championships.
  • 2021 Winner - Dewig Meats, Haubstadt, Indiana (Lightweight Bacon)

American Cured Meat Championship Award Winners

The American Cured Meat Championship Awards are given out annually at the competition that is held in conjunction with the American Convention of Meat Processors. The products are evaluated by judges who are meat scientists and specialists in the meat industry.

ACMC University Class Competition Winners

The University Class provides a venue to students who have an interest in processed meats to compete at the intercollegiate level. The competition is open to students who have an allied AAMP membership represented in some fashion from their respective institutions. All schools entering product in this competition comply with the guidelines set forth in the ACMC competition rules concerning the designated class.

Golden Cleaver Trophy

The AAMP Golden Cleaver Trophy acknowledges the member who has recruited the highest number of new members to the join the American Association of Meat Processors. The recruitment period is from June 1 until May 30 in one year.
  • 2021 Winners - Rick Reams, RJ's Meats, Hudson, WI (Processor); Paradise Locker Meats, Trimble, MO (Processor); UltraSource, LLC, Kansas City, MO (Supplier)

F.W. Witt Supplier of the Year Award

The F.W. Witt Supplier of the Year Award was established to honor a person and/or supplier member who has devoted much of his or her career to the meat and poultry industry, particularly small and medium sized plant operators.
  • 2021 Winner - Rick Alaniz, Alaniz Law & Associates, Houston, Texas

Stephen F. Krut Scholarship Award 

Two (2) $5,000  scholarships are awarded each year to a deserving University or technical school students.  Applications are available to any student who meets the eligibility requirements as cited on the application.

Best Booth Award

The Best Booth Award was established to recognize an AAMP supplier firm that is listed in the Official Convention Program. The event is held annually at the AAMP supplier trade show. Booths will be judged on booth personnel, booth appearance, and booth "ambiance".
  • 2021 Best Single Booth - Spartan Chemical Co., Maumee, Ohio
  • 2021 Best Multiple Booth - REISER, Canton, Massachusetts

2022 Award Applications (PDF Download)
The deadline to submit all applications is March 31.